Grants & Awards

About this page

As part of its overall charter to support journalism research and academics, the JERAA has initiated a number of research grants and awards.

Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year Award 2017: Geoff Craig

The 2017 Anne Dunn Scholar award for excellence in research about communication or journalism has been awarded to Professor Geoffrey Craig, head of research in the School of Communication Studies at Auckland University of Technology in New Zealand.

From the Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia (JERAA) and the Australian and New Zealand Communication Association (ANZCA), our warmest congratulations Geoff.

For the first time since the award’s inception, the judges opted to highly commend the work of an applicant – Dr Stephen Harrington, senior lecturer in the School of Communication at Queensland University of Technology.

The Anne Dunn Scholar Award was set up in 2014 to commemorate the life and work of a much valued and sorely missed colleague – Professor Anne Dunn. Members of Anne Dunn’s family and the two associations decided to offer an annual award worth $3,000. It recognises excellence in research about the fields of communications or journalism, including but not limited to broadcast media for the public benefit.

The award is in memory of a remarkable broadcaster, journalism educator and media scholar. Anne was known for her efforts to build bridges, whether between industry and the academy or across academic disciplines, for her mentoring of younger women making the adjustment from working in news media to academia and for her life-long commitment to public sector broadcasting.

ANZCA president Phillip McIntyre said Geoffrey Craig had produced an impressive body of research. “Geoff Craig’s research analyses major institutions of public communication and he uses theory well. He has helped shape his corner of the field in the region. His work is innovative and his care for his topic, not to mention his engagement with the ABC and other institutions, shines through his application. His work aligns well with the research interests of Anne Dunn”.

JERAA president Matthew Ricketson said: "The judges for the Anne Dunn scholar award this year were pleased by the continuing development of the breadth and depth of the entries. This is not only a fitting tribute to the lasting influence of Anne Dunn but demonstrates advances made in scholarly work in the field of communication and journalism”.

Both presidents, who headed their associations’ judging panels, commended the work of Dr Harrington which they said was well theorised and, for his career point, showed an impressive track record. His research into alternative expressions of journalism is thought-provoking and his advocacy for it in popular as well as academic journals is to be welcomed.

The judges continue to encourage entries from members of both ANZCA and JERAA who have developed a strong body of research about communication and journalism. Please enter so your work can be celebrated and we can showcase it to the wider academic community.

Previous Anne Dunn Scholars:

Dr Emma Jane, 2016

Associate Professor Mia Lindgren, 2015

Dr Siobhan McHugh, 2014


Journalism Research Grant 2017

Winner: Dr Deb Anderson, Monash Unviersity

Project title: Courting Disaster - Cyclone Reporting in a Climate Change World

Project summary

What are the ethical and professional challenges for journalists in reporting extreme weather events in an era of ‘post-truth’ discourse on anthropogenic climate change? Through a close study of an under-researched topic—cyclone reporting in Australia’s Wet Tropics—this project will develop a program of empirical research on disaster reporting, which seeks to generate reflexive thinking on, and recommendations for, journalism practice and ethics in the context of politicised debate over inter-related issues of weather, climate and change.


Conference Scholarship for Postgrad Students JERAA 2016

Winner: Nicole Gooch, Monash University


Paper title: Environmental risks and the media - a case study of two mining disasters: Brazil’s Samarco
and New Caledonia’s Goro.

Project summary:

This paper examines two examples of environmental disasters and the politics behind the
media’s coverage of the risks linked to those mining operations before and after the accidents.
It then asks how this coverage influenced public perception of environmental risks, and
proposes a new framework for environmental journalism, that, in combination with political
ecology, questions power relationships, development theories and the unpredictable nature of
so-called ‘accidents’.