Australian Tertiary Education Institutions Teaching Journalism

ACT

University of Canberra

Contact: Caroline Fisher, Discipline lead, Journalism, Faculty of Arts & Design, University of Canberra, ACT 2601

Email: Caroline.Fisher@canberra.edu.au Ph: 02 6201 5958

 

New South Wales

Charles Sturt University

Contact: Jock Cheetham, School of Communication and Creative Industries, Charles Sturt University

Panorama Ave, BATHURST NSW 2795

Email: jcheetham@csu.edu.au; Ph: 02 6338 4524, 0403 931 888

Southern Cross University
Contact: Jeanti St Clair, Digital Media Program, Southern Cross University, Military Road, East Lismore NSW 2480

Email: jeanti.stclair@scu.edu.au, Ph: 02 6620 3126

University of Newcastle

Contact: Alysson Watson, School of Humanities, Creative Industries & Social Science, University of Newcastle, Cnr King and Auckland Streets, Newcastle NSW 2300

Email: alysson.watson@newcastle.edu.au

University of Sydney

Contact: Margaret Van Heekeren, Undergraduate Curriculum Coordinator, Dept of Media and Communications, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, University of Sydney NSW 2006

Email: margaret.vanheekeren@sydney.edu.au; Ph: 02 86279225

University of Technology Sydney

Contact: Saba Bebawi, Journalism and Writing Discipline, UTS, 15 Broadway, Ultimo  NSW 2007

Email: Saba.Bebawi@uts.edu.au  Ph: 02 9514 2000

Western Sydney University
Contact: Asha Chand, School of Humanities and Communication Arts, Western Sydney University,  Locked Bag 1797, Penrith NSW 2751

Email: a.chand@westernsydney.edu.au, Ph: 02 9685 9102

University of Wollongong

Contact: Sean Burns, Journalism, School of the Arts, English & Media, Building 25, University of Wollongong, NSW 2522

Email: shawn@uow.edu.au, Ph 02 42215995

 

Queensland

Bond University

Contact: Rob Layton, Journalism, Faculty of Society & Design, Bond University, 14 University Drive, Robina QLD 4226

Email: rlayton@bond.edu.au, Ph: 07 5595 2516

Griffith University

Contact: Assoc Prof Kerrie Foxwell-Norton, School of Humanities, Languages and Social Sciences, Griffith University, Southport QLD 4215.

Email: k.foxwell@griffith.edu.au, Ph: 07 5552 8874

James Cook University

Contact (Cairns) Amy Forbes, College of Arts, Society and Education, James Cook University,

Cairns QLD 4870

Email: amy.forbes@jcu.edu.au, Ph: 07 42321051

Contact (Townsville) Marie Oelgemoeller, College of Arts, Society and Education, James Cook University, Townsville QLD 4810

Email: marie.oelgemoeller@jcu.edu.au, Ph: 07 47815215

Queensland University of Technology

Contact: Aljosha Karim Schapals, School of Communication, Queensland University of Technology, Kelvin Grove QLD 4049

Email: aljosha.schapals@qut.edu.au, Ph: 07 3138 0157

University of Southern Queensland
Contact: Rebecca Te’o, School of Humanities and Communication, USQ West Street, Darling Heights, Toowoomba QLD 4350

Email: rebecca.teo@usq.edu.au, Ph: 07 4631 1054

Caryn Coatney, School of Humanities and Communication, USQ, Springfield QLD 4300

Email: Caryn.Coatney@usq.edu.au, Ph: 07 3470 4609.

University of the Sunshine Coast
Contact: Jane Stephens, School of Communication, University of Sunshine Coast, Maroochydore DC QLD 4558

Email: efynes@usc.edu.au, Ph: 07 5456 5054

University of Queensland
Contact: Dr Richard Murray, Lecturer of Digital Journalism, The School of Communication and Arts, The University of Queensland, St Lucia, QLD 4072, r.murray1@uq.edu.au

 

South Australia

University of Adelaide

Contacts: Michelle Phillipov, Media Department, North Terrace Campus, University of Adelaide, SA 5005

Email: michelle.phillipov@adelaide.edu.au, Ph: 08 8313 0513

University of South Australia

Contact: Bonita Mason, Program Director (Journalism and Professional Writing), UniSA Creative, Magill SA 5072

Email Bonita.Mason@unisa.edu.au, Ph: 08 8302 4285

Tasmania

University of Tasmania
Contact: Alana Mann, Head of Disciple, Media, School of Creative Arts and Media, University of Tasmania, Private Bag 17, Hobart TAS 7001

Email: Alana.Mann@utas.edu.au, Ph: 0408 234 393

Victoria

Deakin University
Contact: Chris Scanlon, Undergraduate Communication, School of Communication and Creative Arts, Faculty of Arts and Education, Deakin University, 221 Burwood Highway, Burwood VIC 3125

Email: christopher.scanlon@deakin.edu.au, Ph: 03 9244 5923

Contact: Erin Hawley, Postgraduate Communication, School of Communication and Creative Arts, Faculty of Arts and Education, Deakin University, 221 Burwood Highway, Burwood VIC 3125

Email: erin.hawley@deakin.edu.au, Ph: 03 9244 5919

La Trobe University
Contact: Merryn Sherwood, Head, Media and Communications, La Trobe University, Melbourne VIC 3086

Email m.sherwood@latrobe.edu.au, Ph: 03 9479 3347

Monash University

Contact: Johan Lidberg, Head of Journalism, School of Media, Film and Journalism Monash University Caulfield Campus, Dandenong Rd, Caulfield East VIC 3145

Email: johan.lidberg@monash.edu, Ph: 03 99034115

Swinburne University

Contact: Peter Marcato, Lecturer,  Media and Communication, Faculty of Health, Arts and Design, Swinburne University of Technology,  Mail no H31, PO Box 218, HAWTHORN VIC 3122

Email: pmarcato@swin.edu.au, Ph: 03 9214 8355

RMIT University

Contact: Alexandra Wake, Program Manager, School of Media and Communication, RMIT University GPO Box 2476 Melbourne,  Victoria 3001 Ph: 03  9925 9749

University of Melbourne
Contact: Andrew Dodd, Director of the Centre for Advancing Journalism. Coordinator, Master of Journalism and Master of International Journalism,

Email: adodd@unimelb.edu.au  Ph: 03 8344 5841

 

Western Australia

Curtin University

Contact:  Kathryn Shine, Journalism Discipline Lead, School of Media, Creative Arts and Social Inquiry, Curtin University, GPO Box U1987 Perth, WA 6845.

Email: K.shine@curtin.edu.au, Ph: 08 9266 4638

Edith Cowan University

Contact: Trevor Cullen,  Media and Communication, Edith Cowan University, 2 Bradford Street, Mount Lawley WA

Email: t.cullen@ecu.edu.au, Ph: 08 6304 6354

Murdoch University

Contact: Narelle Hopkin, College of Arts, Business, Law and Social Sciences, Murdoch University, South Street, Murdoch, WA, 6050

Email: n.hopkin@murdoch.edu.au; Ph: 08 9360 6570.

Notre Dame University

Contact (Freemantle): Mignon Shardlow, Communication & Media, Notre Dame University, 19 Mouat St, Fremantle  WA 6959

Email: Mignon.Shardlow@nd.edu.au, Ph: 08 9433 0295

Contact (Sydney): Camilla Nelson, Journalism, School of Arts & Sciences, Cnr Broadway and Abercrombie St, Broadway NSW 2007

Email: camilla.nelson@nd.edu.au, Ph: 02 8204 4146

 

New Zealand

AUT

Contact: Dr Greg Treadwell, HoD, Journalism, School of Communication Studies, Te Kura Whakapāho, gregory.treadwell@aut.ac.nz

Massey University

Contact: Associate Professor James Hollings, Associate Head of School, Wellington, Programme Leader, Journalism, School of Communication, Journalism and Marketing, j.h.hollings@massey.ac.nz

University of Canterbury

Contact: Dr Tara Ross, Senior Lecturer, Journalism, Media and Communication Department, Faculty of Arts, +64 3 369 5846 | E: tara.ross@canterbury.ac.nz

University of Otago

Contact: Dr Brett Nicholls, Media, Film and Communication, brett.nicholls@otago.ac.nz

Fiji

The University of the South Pacific

Contact: Shailendra Singh, Associate Professor, Pacific Journalism, The University of the South Pacific, Suva, Fiji, Shailendra.singh@usp.ac.fj

 

Papua New Guinea

University of Papua New Guinea

Contact: Emily Matasororo, Lecturer, Journalism Strand, ematasororo@upng.ac.pg

Divine Word University

Contact: Dr Alphonse Aime, head of the Communication Arts Department, aaime@dwu.ac.pg

journalism education press freedom
World Press Freedom Day 2022 
read more
Ossie Awards
Reuben Spargo wins 2021 Journalism Student of Year
read more