ossie awards

The annual Ossie Awards, named after journalist Osmar S. White, are organised by the Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia. Senior journalists and editors judge the main award categories.

The 2024 Ossie Awards will open via an online submission process on May 1, 2024.

The deadline for the 2024 awards will be midnight on Sunday, October 27 (NSW time). The awards will be presented during the JERAA conference at the University of Melbourne, in late November.

Winners in most categories receive a $200 prize, funded in perpetuity by a generous donation by White’s daughter, journalist and author Sally A. White.

A Student of the Year Award worth $750 is available, thanks to the generous sponsorship of the Australian Press Council. The Press Council is sponsoring two other awards each worth $200 on media ethics and press freedom.

In 2022, JERAA was delighted to announce that our specialist award categories have expanded, offered thanks to our sponsors. The Judith Neilson Institute for Journalism and Ideas sponsored two awards including a Scoop of the Year Award. Private Media, owners of Crikey, have sponsored two awards: the Private Media Award for Diversity, and the Crikey Investigative Journalism (Individual) award. Sally A. White has also extended her generous support of the Ossies by sponsoring the group investigative journalism award, now named the Dorkin Investigative Journalism (Group) award after her father.

JERAA is also grateful again for the continuing sponsorship of the following:

  • The Monash Climate Change Communication Research Hub Award for Best Climate Change Reporting, which attracts a $200 prize.
  • Intellect are also providing a book voucher of 100 GBP for the Best Publication award.
  • The Mindframe for Journalism Education award categories each attract a $200 prize and are sponsored by Everymind.
  •  The Dart Centre Asia Pacific Award is also $200, sponsored by Dart Centre Asia Pacific.
  • Two $200 awards sponsored by Our Watch recognise excellence in the coverage of violence against women.
  • Adobe for providing a Creative Cloud 12-month Subscription, worth $800+.

JERAA also thanks the anonymous sponsor who provides $200 for the John Newfong Award for Reporting on Indigenous Affairs.

In 2022, we modified the audio and video categories, and introduced new awards in data journalism and visual journalism. These, and the changes noted above, reflect changes in journalistic practice in both Australian media and journalism courses. Information can be found about all the awards in our Categories sub-menu.


Jeanti St Clair
Southern Cross University

ossie awards recognising the best work of student journalists

Past Winners

Anne Dunn award
Dr Catriona Bonfiglioli is the 2021 Anne Dunn Scholar

The 2021 winner of the Anne Dunn award is Dr Catriona Bonfiglioli, Senior Lecturer in Media Studies at the University of Technology, Sydney. Catriona [...]

research award
Dr Chrisanthi Giotis wins 2020 JERAA Research Award

Dr Chrisanthi Giotis, from the University of Technology, Sydney, is the winner of the 2020 Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia [...]

Anne Dunn award
Dr Penny O’Donnell wins the 2020 Anne Dunn Scholar award

Dr Penny O’Donnell, from the Department of Media and Communications at the University of Sydney, is the winner of the 2020 Anne Dunn Scholar award, [...]

Ossie Awards
Reuben Spargo wins 2021 Ossies Journalism Student of the Year

The 2021 Ossie Award winners, showcasing Australia’s best student journalism, were announced during an online awards session at the Journalism Educa[...]

Previous winners of the Ossie Awards, dating back to 2008

The full list of previous winners of the Ossie Awards can be found here.


The ossie awards are sponsored by