What is JoMeC?

The late Anne Dunn initiated the Journalism-Media-Communications (JoMeC) Network when it became clear that all disciplines in all universities would need to revise their Learning Outcome statements to comply with the requirements of the new Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF).

The Office for Learning and Teaching* funded the JoMeC Network to engage in three core activities:

Learning Outcomes

The JoMeC Network’s core goal was to write Threshold Learning Outcome (TLO) statements for Bachelor-level programs with majors in Journalism, Media Studies/Communications Studies and Public Relations. Threshold learning outcomes (TLOs) are statements of the minimum knowledge, discipline-specific skills and professional capabilities that are expected of that discipline’s graduates. The JoMeC Network has developed TLO statements that are based a summation of literature about the Knowledge, Skills and Applications (KSAs) expected of graduates in these disciplines as well as ongoing consultations with scholars and other stakeholders in each discipline.

A Resource Website

A JoMeC Network goal was to create a website of useful resources to provide scholars with (i) information about Learning Outcomes and (ii) examples the kinds of evidence that can be presented to show that graduates who have passed their degree program have achieved the Learning Outcomes expected of that qualification.

A Network

The JoMeC Network’s aim was to build and sustain a stronger network between scholars in the journalism, media and communications disciplines. In particular, the trans-disciplinary network will review and develop the TLOs on an ongoing basis.

These three activities are considered ongoing activities and input is welcome on the latest version of the TLOs.

JoMeC Steering Committee

  • Chika Anyanwu (Charles Sturt University, Former ANZCA President)**
  • Rhonda Breit (Former JoMeC Project Leader)
  • Kathryn Bowd (University of Adelaide, JERAA Executive member)
  • Diana Bossio (Swinburne University, ANZCA President)
  • Joy Chia (Monash University)**
  • Kristin Demetrious (Deakin University)
  • Renae Desai (Murdoch University)
  • Kate Fitch (Murdoch University)
  • Terence Lee (Murdoch University, Former ANZCA President)**
  • Kerry McCallum (University of Canberra, ANZCA Executive)
  • Penny O’Donnell (University of Sydney)
  • Ian Richards (University of Adelaide, JERAA Executive)*
  • Angela Romano (Queensland University of Technology, JERAA Executive)
  • Katharina Wolf (Curtin University, Former PRIA WA President)

** Chika Anwanyu and Terence Lee were replaced by Diana Bossio, Joy Chia was replaced by Kristin Demetrious, and Ian Richards was replaced by Kathryn Bowd.

Discipline Reference Groups

Three discipline-specific Reference Groups have been established for Journalism, Communication and/or Media Studies, and Public Relations. These three Reference Groups will meet separately and collectively to discuss learning and teaching issues and review the TLO statements. Under their Terms of Reference, they will promote learning and teaching excellence across the Network fields, particularly in terms of the attainment of threshold learning outcomes.

Leaders of the Reference Groups are:

  • Journalism Reference Group:Angela Romano
  • Public Relations Reference Group: Renae Desai and Katharina Wolf
  • Communication and/or Media Studies Reference Group: Jason Sternberg

*The views expressed on this website and in JoMeC Network reports do not necessarily reflect the views of the Office for Learning and Teaching.


To contact the JoMeC Network, email the Project Manager on jomec@jeaa.org.au

Real journalists can lead the war against deepfakes
read more
JERAA urges the US to drop charges and return Assange to Australia
read more